Taman Safari, Cisarua


  
I love animals, so it would be very natural for me to seek out the local zoos or safaris during my posting to Indonesia. I must say, the management of the Taman Safari in Cisarua did a FANTASTIC job. I dare say that its one of the best safaris i have been to (versus the one in Melaka & Singapore). Sorry, but i am just stating my opinion.  Here is the full address for the Taman Safari:Jl. Raya Puncak No.601 , Cisarua Jawa Barat Bogor, Java , Indonesia. The contact number is 62 251 8250 000.

I am lucky enough to have visited this Taman Safari TWICE, both with my Malaysian friends who came by to visit. I was also practicing my Couch Surfing skills *coughs* http://www.couchsurfing.org/people/georgialivelaughlove Both times, i took many many many amazing and candid shots. I just want to keep this article short and sweet, and allow you all to enjoy the pictures instead. I really have > 500 pix… however, in this article i will just share a few of the best… 🙂

Taman Safari is a zoo like environment which has a good car safari trail that allows cars and tourist buses to see and feed elephants, zebras, goats, hippos and many more animals which i forgot the names… *shy* PLUS a BABY petting zoo. Along the way to the Taman safari, you will see many road side stalls, selling local produce like carrots & bananas. It’s good to support the local farmers and get you supply there. It’s about Rupiah 5000 per bundle and you can use it to feed the animals during the car safari trail. 

After the car safari trail, you can enjoy other animal shows. All are so good. Examples are  ‘Wild-Wild West’ the Lion show and the Sea-Lion Show. If you fancy an animal ride, you can ride the elephants and ponies. And, if you would like some souvenirs to remember by your trip, you can stop by at the souvenir shop. I bought a lot in both my visit to the shops. 😛

I HIGHLY recommend that you stay one night, so that you can go for the day safari and night safari. On both my trips there, we missed the night safari as we arrived late due to the unforgiving traffic heading to & from Puncak and Bogor… But, i know for sure, one day, i shall return and enjoy the night safari. If you stay overnight, you have a chance to stay inside the Taman Safari which has a variety of accommodations like chalets, caravans and a Buffolo shaped caravan. The Buffalo shaped caravan is only one… so you really need to book in advance 😛 For more information, you may surf this website: http://www.tamansafari.com/

Here are the pictures, a combination of my both trips there. I hope the pictures will convince you all to detour to Taman Safari if you are in Puncak or Bogor.

Map of Activity

This map is taken from the www.tamansafari.com
 

My Malaysian Friends 🙂

 

He he, the hippos know the routine well

 
At 9am sharp, when the gates open, you will have a bit of macet (traffic jam). Dont worry as soon, the cars will pace out slowly as different tourists stop at different spots at different duration of time. And the Taman Safari is big enough… so later, you wont even see too many cars.
 

Feeding begins

 
The animals like the zebras, goats etc are so used to tourists, they are all very well-behaved and know when to drop saliva into your car and make us laugh and scream. ha ha ha… they also love to leave lip stains on the windows… so it’s how they show affection 😛
 

Elephants up close 😛

 

 

Annabella feeding the camels 😛

 
 
i like this picture, like a pix in a pix as i managed to get my friend’s camera with photo inside
 
 

We like to move it move it 🙂

 

Mooning us 😛

 
 

Who shall i eat today?

 

Hey, move it. you are in the way of my tanning session

 

I use conditioners ... to achieve the Rod Steward look...

 

Beautifully majestic

 

We only eat organic bananas 😛

 
 

FEED me...

This hippo just opened his mouth while the cars drove by and we tried very hard to aim the carrots into his mouth… lol
 

I love you, i love you more

 
 
 
The following pictures are taken in the baby petting zoo… he he… i love them 🙂
 

My Navi girl was so jealous when she saw this pix 😛

 

Fyi, this naughty fellow peed on the next tourist lol

 
 
 

i was scared, but i love this pix

 
 The few pictures are pictures taken at the Dolphin show. We missed the show, but the Safari Rangers where so kind, and gave us a small private show after we took pictures and fed thedolphins 🙂
 

waaa, eat so fast one 😛

 

Kissed by cheeky Naruto 🙂 YayJustin & Naruto strutting their stuff

 
And the next 2 pictures are of me in the sourvenir shop, cant seem to stop buying lol 😛
 
 
 

Pls bring me home

 

Nice weekend day bag 🙂

 

Which one NOT to buy... spoilt for choices 😛

I hope you have enjoyed this articles and pictures as much as i’ve enjoyed sharing them with you. Thank you for reading and i hope i’ve convinced you to make a trip to Taman Safari Cisarua. Its much cheaper option than the one in Bali.
 
Take care 🙂 
 
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jaime
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 00:45:33

    Sounds like a lot of fun… I love the pictures and the quotes underneath them. Very funny… This is something I would love to do one day~

    Reply

  2. Nomadic Samuel
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 07:35:30

    This is a great photo essay! I love the shots of you with the animals and the photo where Annabella is feeding the camels.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

